NEET Eligibility Criteria, Nationality, Age Limit, Qualification

NEET Eligibility Criteria: NEET (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test) is an entrance examination conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA). NEET exam is conducted for joining undergraduate medical courses like MBBS and BDS in government and private medical and dental colleges across India. Candidates who are going to apply for NEET Exam must have to check the Eligibility Criteria first.  In this article, candidates will get complete information about NEET Eligibility such as the NEET age limit, qualification, etc.

NEET Eligibility Criteria:


  • An applicant needs to be Indian or belong to OCI or overseas to appear in the NEET examination.
  • Qualified citizens need to get qualified for fetching admission in the dental as well as medical colleges that are subject to the rules and regulations structured by the Government of India and various state governments.
  • Foreign nationals may confirm their eligibility from the concerned Medical/Dental/ College/State.

Age Limit:

  • The minimum age limit chosen by the exam commencing authority is 17 years as of December 31st of the admission year.
  • The upper age limit for NEET (UG) is 25 years as of the date of examination.
  • The upper age limit for categories such as Schedule Caste/Schedule Tribe/Other Backward Classes comprises 30 years. This is actually an age relaxation of 5 years.
  • The decision on the maximum age limit is pending before the Hon’ble Supreme Court, so, all candidates are provisionally permitted to apply and appear for NEET.
See also  IFS Exam Preparation Tips
See also  ACDS BDS Eligibility Criteria

NEET Qualification:

  • Those who belong to the General category and have completed their class 12th or Higher Secondary School with 50% can consider for NEET.
  • Besides this, candidates are required to have cleared the subjects such as Physics, Biotechnology/Biology, Chemistry, and English separately and attained at least 50% marks in all together in the subjects such as Biotechnology/Biology, Physics, and Chemistry
  • The limit is 40% for those who belong to categories such as Schedule Tribe/Other Backward Classes/Scheduled Caste
  • Those who belong to categories such as Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, or Other Backward Classes required to have acquired at least 40% marks in subjects prominently Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Biotechnology altogether
  • Candidate must have acquired 45% marks if belonging physically handicapped or General Category and it is 40% for those who belong to OBC-PH/SC-PH/ ST-PH category. This is strictly followed by the locomotor’s disability of lower limbs.

Get the Latest Update Join Us on TelegramClick Here

See also  JEE Mains Admit Card, Download Admit Card

Leave a Comment